Sponsored by


IEEE MRS 2021 was held on November 4-5 at St John’s College, University of Cambridge, UK. This conference was held in-person, in Cambridge, with remote live-streaming for registered participants who cannot travel.

The recordings are available on YouTube here.

The goal of the conference is to bring together researchers who are in the field of multi-robot systems (MRS) and multi-agent systems (MAS). Typically MRS/MAS research is spread across large conferences, and this makes it difficult for us to keep up to date on new findings and meet others in the area. The intent of the conference is to bring those researchers together with a high-quality symposium to highlight the very best in the field. MRS is an initiative of the IEEE RAS Technical Committee on Multi-Robot Systems. Previous iterations include MRS 2017, MRS 2019.

The conference scope will include any research related to multi-robot and multi-agent systems, an inherently diverse community. Several competences are needed in this field, ranging from control systems to mechanical design, coordination, cooperation, estimation, perception and interaction. The fields of interest include the following general fields, but are not limited to:

  • Modeling and Control of MRS/MAS
  • Discrete Planning, Routing, Multi-Robot Path Finding, Task Assignment
  • Distributed Optimization and Distributed Algorithms
  • Nonlinear Control, Lyapunov Methods, Optimal Control
  • Continuous Planning, Trajectory Optimization, Informative Planning
  • Deep Learning, Reinforcement Learning, General Learning, General AI
  • Distributed Perception, Vision, Mapping, SLAM
  • Estimation, Filtering, Bayesian Methods, Target Tracking
  • Robustness, Formal Methods, Network Resilience
  • Human-Multi-Robot Interaction
  • Micro/Nano Scale Systems
  • Bio-Inspired Systems and and Swarm Intelligence

Important Dates

Paper Submission DeadlineMay 17, 2021
Video Submission DeadlineMay 23, 2021
Notification of AcceptanceJuly 30, 2021
Submission of Final PapersAugust 30, 2021
Deadline for Early Bird RegistrationSeptember 13, 2021
Deadline for Regular RegistrationOctober 22, 2021
Deadline for Virtual RegistrationOctober 29, 2021
Conference DatesNovember 4-5, 2021

Keynote Talks

Andy Davison
Shimon Whiteson
Register for the Conference


Early registration ended on September 13. Regular registration ended on October 22. Virtual registration will end on October 29.

Additional banquet tickets cost £65.

The registration options are available on the registration website.

Booking/cancellation policy

  1. If a participant books an In-Person ticket, but finally cannot attend due to travel restrictions, then the difference to a Remote registration will be refunded, and the booking class will be changed to Remote (with virtual access to content).
  2. Changes from In-Person to Remote registrations must be made by Oct. 22 the latest to guarantee refunds.

IEEE Student Member

  • Regular Registration (In-Person): £192

  • Remote Participation (Virtual): £25

Student (Non-Member)

  • Regular Registration (In-Person): £230

  • Remote Participation (Virtual): £30

IEEE Member

  • Regular Registration (In-Person): £360

  • Remote Participation (Virtual): £50


  • Regular Registration (In-Person): £432

  • Remote Participation (Virtual): £60


General ChairAmanda Prorok, University of Cambridge, UK
Editor in ChiefMac Schwager, Stanford University, USA
Program ChairsPaolo Robuffo Giordano, IRISA-CNRS, France
Nora Ayanian, University of Southern California, USA
Chris Amato, Northeastern University, USA
Dan Halperin, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Publications ChairJavier Alonso Mora, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Finance ChairXi Yu, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Awards ChairAni Hsieh, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Registration ChairZhe Liu, University of Cambridge, UK
Website ChairJan Blumenkamp, University of Cambridge, UK
Local Arrangements ChairSally Matthews, University of Cambridge, UK
Presentation ChairJennifer Gielis, University of Cambridge, UK
Area ChairsCarlo Pinciroli, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Philip Dames, Temple University, USA
Bryan Low, National University of Singapore
Stephen L. Smith, University of Waterloo, Canada
Graeme Best, Oregon State University, USA
Hang Ma, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Eduardo Montijano, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
Dylan Losey, Virginia Tech, USA
Negar Mehr, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Vadim Indelman, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
Cristi Ioan-Vasile, Lehigh University, USA
Guillaume Sartoretti, National University of Singapore
Alberto Quattrini Li, Dartmouth College, USA
Roderich Gross, University of Sheffield, UK
Nikolay Atanasov, University of California, San Diego, USA
Jen Jen Chung, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Jacopo Panerati, University of Toronto, Canada
Advisory boardMagnus Egerstedt, Georgia Tech, USA
Ani Hsieh, University of Pennsylvania, USA
David Hsu, National University of Singapore
Vijay Kumar, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Alcherio Martinoli, EPFL, Switzerland
Lynne E. Parker, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA
Daniela Rus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA